Monday, July 28, 2014

Book Review: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly
by Susan Dennard
July 24, 2012
HarperTeen
388 pages
Source: I won an ARC in 2012 and have now read this edition twice. I fully intend on buying a finished copy.

Synopsis:

There's something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia...

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family as fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walkers by. But this is nothing compared to what she's just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor... from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she'll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including the maddeningly stubborn yet handsome Daniel, the situation becomes dire. An now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance. (Goodreads Summary.)



My Take On It

An original blend of historical, paranormal, and a slight touch of steampunk, Something Strange and Deadly is an impressive package to savor. Set against Philadelphia during the Victorian period, Dennard’s debut explores what it would be like if zombies or walking corpses were frequent tormentors in the past. A sensational story, complete with a fresh and lovable cast, SS&D is entertainment with parasols and petticoats done right!

At the heart of this story is heroine, Eleanor Fitt. It’s been six years since her father’s untimely death, and the last three have been spent stressing over her family’s finances. Eleanor’s brother, Elijah, has been away during this difficult time. Despite Eleanor’s pleading letters to her brother, Elijah hasn’t returned to resume their father’s work. Eleanor carries the responsibility of managing the Fitt’s dwindling fortune, and without Elijah home to take over, Eleanor’s hand will be swiftly sold to the nearest and wealthiest of suitors. 

Circumstances only get worse on the day of Elijah’s expected return. Instead of Elijah, Eleanor is greeted by a walking corpse with a hand-delivered note – signed by Elijah himself! Elijah is in trouble, and even more peculiar is the corpse’s behavior! Desperate for answers, Eleanor turns to a band of misfits, known as, the Spirit-Hunters; they’re the ones who put the dead and other supernatural threats to rest. Hesitant to work with Miss Fitt at first, the Spirit-Hunters later accept her request once a discovery is made; spiritual energy radiates off the piece of paper – meaning, Elijah has attracted attention from the wrong sort. It is presumed a necromancer may have Elijah, but can the Spirit-Hunters save Elijah and the city when the count of animated corpses continues to rise? And can the same necromancer raising the dead be accountable for taking Elijah too?

Laced with mystery and dark magic, Something Strange and Deadly is a fast-paced page turner. There are more plot threads at work here, and by the time you reach the explosive ending, you’ll be pleasantly surprised by Dennard’s ability to keep you hooked. Sure, some puzzles are easier to solve than others, but Dennard has a few tricks up her sleeve you won’t see coming; everything comes full circle. Plus, the characters in this series make the adventure even more memorable!

Eleanor Fitt is a feisty little thing. Her intellect and quick wit make her a stand out. She’s practical and not very invested in living a lavish lifestyle. Her curiosity will often lead her down dark roads, but she’s always willing to fight. She’s snippy when she has to be, and her retorts will make you laugh! She has such fond memories of her brother, and she’ll do just about anything to save him. Eleanor does have moments of weakness; her choices aren’t always the best, but she does take the steps needed to fix what needs fixing.

Eleanor’s chemistry with Daniel, the infuriating and yet charming inventor and Spirit-Hunter is easily one of my favorite parts. Behind Eleanor and Daniel’s amusing banter is a romantic pull so undeniable, yet, Dennard would rather tease you with little moments, then set their potential love story ablaze. Just to give you a preview: Daniel’s pet name for Eleanor is “Empress,” and I swear, every time he uses it, I melt a little; while the pet name might’ve derived out of spite, “Empress” later becomes Daniel’s way of expressing affection for Eleanor. While Daniel may keep Eleanor at an emotional distance, he’d never leave the damsel in distress; still, she proves she’s just as capable as he is more times than none.

Next to the endearing Eleanor and Daniel, stand the dependable Joseph and Jie. Joseph is a sophisticated Creole, who is wise and level headed. He is well-trained in the art of white magic and uses electricity to counter darkness. Jie is a fierce Chinese girl obliterating Philadelphia’s dead, and she's doing it in boy’s clothes! Jie lives an unrestrained lifestyle. She’s in total control of her choices, and not once does she give in to social standards or expectations. Together, Joseph, Daniel, and Jie make up the Spirit-Hunters team. Eleanor proves her worth to the gang, and she tags along as an asset throughout. I just love how the foursome have vastly different personalities, and yet, they balance each other out and work well together too.

I really could go on and on about this story, especially because I have now read it twice. The characters come alive, and Dennard’s ability to transport the reader to Philadelphia in 1876 is a mesmerizing feat. The twisted addition of zombies is an exciting bonus! Not to forget, there's diversity, feminism, and humor! To say the least, I appreciated Dennard’s work a lot more the second time around. She certainly deserves more recognition, and my plea for you is to take notice.


Connect with author Susan Dennard: website / goodreads / twitter / facebook

Read more reviews of Something Strange and Deadly
Alexa Loves Books
Paper Cuts
Reader of Fictions



 photo MarlenesSignature_zps1aa65df7.png

Sunday, July 27, 2014

Stacking the Shelves with Marlene [#7]


Stacking the Shelves is a feature hosted by Tynga's Reviews. The aim is to showcase the books we've bought, burrowed, or received throughout the week/month.

Hello, readers!

I'm here with another book haul!
But don't get too excited. I didn't pick up a lot this month.
Still, I'm not complaining. I'm very happy with what I have. :)
Plus, I have big plans for August! ;)
I have $40 in B&N gift cards I want to use. Of course, I'm eager to spend it, but 
I'm patiently waiting for Of Metal and Wishes and Sisters' Fate to release first. 
I'm also going back and forth between other books I want to purchase with this money too. 
Luckily, I still have time to mull it over!

Anyway, here is what I snagged this month:


Purchases:


Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater 

Oh, I devoured this already! 
Although I can't say I was in love with Sinner, I really did enjoy it. 
I may have a review for you in August, but honestly, 
Heather's review says everything there is to say. 
Do check it out! It's lovely and concise!


Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (e-book)

The Kindle edition of Attachments is on sale right now. 
At $1.99 this has to be a steal!
I'm so ready to read this, guys! I can't even...


For Review:


The Graveyard Book Graphic Novel, Volume 1 adapted by P. Craig Russell 

Guys, this is the very first book sent to me by a major publisher! 
My first bookmail from HarperCollins -- as a blogger!
***SQUEALS***
I'M SO STOKED ABOUT IT, BECAUSE LOOK, IT'S A FINISHED COPY OF A GRAPHIC NOVEL!
If you follow this blog, you know I'm trying to read more of these. I can't wait to dive in, 
especially because it's Neil Gaiman material. Gaiman is new territory for me!
Thank you, HarperCollins!


That's all I have for you today!
I look forward to sharing more next month. :)
Don't forget to link me up to your hauls in the comments. 
I love checking them out!

Have a great week, y'all!

 photo MarlenesSignature_zps1aa65df7.png

Monday, July 21, 2014

Guest post: Tokyo Heist and Latitude Zero's Diana Renn Talks Writing Thrillers in Foreign Places...

Hola readers! 
Today I'm really pleased to have author Diana Renn joining the blog to talk a little about her latest release Latitude Zero and how she goes about writing her thrillers 
so often set in foreign places.
 First, a little more info on Latitude Zero:




Latitude Zero
by Diana Renn
July 3, 2014
Viking Juvenile
448 pages

“I have to run,” said Juan Carlos. “You will call? Please? It is very important.”
“Yes. I will call. Definitely. At two.”


That’s what Tessa promises. But by two o’clock, young Ecuadorian cycling superstar Juan Carlos is dead, and Tessa, one of the last people ever to speak to him, is left with nothing but questions. The media deems Juan Carlos’s death a tragic accident at a charity bike ride, but Tessa, a teen television host and an aspiring investigative journalist, knows that something more is going on. While she grapples with her own grief and guilt, she is being stalked by spies with an insidious connection to the dead cycling champion. Tessa’s pursuit of an explanation for Juan Carlos’s untimely death leads her from the quiet New England backwoods to bustling bike shops and ultimately to Ecuador, Juan Carlos’s homeland. As the ride grows bumpy, Tessa no longer knows who is a suspect and who is an ally. The only thing she knows for sure is that she must uncover the truth of why Juan Carlos has died and race to find the real villain—before the trail goes cold.
(Goodreads Summary.)




While I have not yet had the opportunity to read Renn's latest release, I did read and enjoy her debut, Tokyo Heist a couple of years back (you can read my review HERE.) I loved the Japan setting of that YA mystery/thriller.

Take it away, Diana!




On the Run: 
Writing Thrillers in Foreign Locales

Cave Homes in Caapadocia, Turkey
Source
A few years ago, my husband and I were traveling in Turkey. Our travels took us to the region of Cappadoccia, known for its surreal landscape of rocks and mesas and volcanic material sculpted by wind.

We had mapped out a sightseeing route to a national park. Somewhere en route, we took a wrong turn. We drove on, and at last found a smaller entrance to the park. No one was there, but a sign indicated we could park, and warned tourists not to leave any belongings in the car.

As we were locking the rental car, an older, gray-haired, mustachioed man materialized. He looked clean cut, with pressed trousers and a crisp shirt. He had a companion with him, a younger man, unsmiling. Mustache Man said it was Turkish custom to welcome foreign guests with a cup of tea. We declined, politely, because while we knew it was a custom, we’d also heard tourists are occasionally given tea laced with drugs, then robbed.

Besides, there was no obvious place to enjoy tea. We were in an empty parking lot surrounded by empty roads, dust swirling up around us, off the beaten path. Mustache Man led us to a sign on a chain link fence with a map of the park. While his unsmiling companion looked on, he explained many long, circuitous routes we could hike.

Then he told us he was a famous jeweler who had a store in the nearby village of Avanos. He took out a business card, drew us a map, and exhorted us to visit. We finally extracted ourselves with vague promises, and went to the park. Halfway down the path, we turned and looked. Eight young men were leaning against the chain link fence, staring after us.  We hurried along the main path, snapping photos, pretending to enjoy the natural wonders yet always looking over our shoulders. Every cave we saw looked like a great place to stash our dead bodies.

Creeped out, we ran back to the car. All the men were gone. Then we saw handprints all over our rental car, made visible by the dust that had settled all over the car.

We peeled out of the parking lot. We passed some guys who were pulled over to the side of the road comparing guns. Turning on to the main road toward Avanos, we saw a white car behind us. It passed us. The driver waved. It was Mustache Man. He slowed down and let cars pass so that he was right in front of us. There were no turn offs. We had no choice but to follow. The sightseeing plans were out the window now. It was clear from his whole demeanor that we were on his itinerary.

Mustache Man signaled left with his blinker, rolled down his window, and pointed to a black building on the side of the road. My husband signaled as if we would follow. Then, when the white car turned, he floored it and blew past him. Safe!

But not really. The village of Avanos was little more than a rotary that routed us right back to that black building. We passed it again, and to our horror saw Mustache Man standing by the road with two brawny men. The word “thugs” came to mind.

We sped on. We did not stop driving for an hour, until we were sure we had lost him. We spent the rest of the day sightseeing in an underground cave city, on a guided tour, but the day was shot. I couldn’t get the taste of fear out of my mouth. Then fear gave way to resentment. He hadn’t robbed us of cash, but he’d robbed us of an entire day of sightseeing, and planned experiences.
I’ve never written about that incident in fiction. The mustache-twirling bad guys would be too stereotypical. But it’s that moment of sheer terror and need for speed that I try to tap into when I write my thriller scenes set in foreign locales. I try to bring back my sense of total disorientation (where are we? who are these guys? where will I go for help?). I also try to capture how moments of awe in a foreign setting get undercut by imminent danger.

In my novel Latitude Zero, half of which takes place in Ecuador, I want my characters and my readers to explore another culture, as I was doing in Turkey. But the trick is not letting characters linger in their sightseeing. A character is not going to be marveling too long over a baroque building façade when running for her life. And if she’s perusing a museum and learning about art history, great, but someone had better bust through a window or something, or a clue should turn up, so that the thriller doesn’t turn into a travelogue.

I’m always looking for ways to let the unique features of a setting leak in despite the pressing danger. In Latitude Zero, Tessa Taylor, an American teen volunteers with a bike advocacy organization in Quito as a cover for investigating a murder mystery. Spies are on her tail, trying to prevent her from solving the puzzle, but I found fun opportunities for her to experience a new culture nevertheless. She visits a local crafts market and then puts together a disguise made of Ecuadorian garments. She visits a famous local statue while interrogating a witness. And an Ecuadorian mode of transportation – a party bus called a chiva – becomes a key way to get her from point A to point B.

Researching foreign settings can spark all kinds of ideas for other crimes. (Can someone be run off a narrow road? Clobbered with a pre-Colombian artifact?) I try to mine the territory for terror, too. (What if my character could get locked up in a foreign prison, falsely accused of a crime? Can the police here be trusted?) And there are logical things to research. (What law enforcement agencies step in? How are crime networks organized abroad?)

Maybe Mustache Man in Turkey really was a desperate jeweler, hustling potential clients where he could. Maybe the car thieves were unrelated to his scheme. But at the time, that brief experience of being on the run--felt kind of like being in a thriller. Now my challenge is to make my thrillers feel kind of like real life. And that’s a challenge I don’t want to run from.



Thank you, Diana! 
What a crazy and frightening personal experience you and your husband had in Turkey. 
Maybe I'll stick to my armchair traveling ;) 

And you can check out Latitude Zero which is in stores now! 









I write contemporary YA novels featuring globetrotting teens, international intrigue, and more than a dash of mystery. My first novel, TOKYO HEIST (Viking/Penguin), came out in 2012, my next, LATITUDE ZERO, releases July 3, 2014. I am also the Fiction Editor at YARN (Young Adult Review Network), an award-winning online magazine dedicated to short form writing for teens.






 photo HeatherSignaturedeepred_zps3409da14.png




Sunday, July 20, 2014

Marlene's Summer TBR: Changes & Progress!


Hello, readers!

Today, I have an update for you!

Remember my Summer Series TBR post?
How about my list of Beach-y Reads for the summer?
If you're wondering how I'm getting on with all of those, stay right here. :)

Before I reveal what I've read, and what I plan to pick up next, 
I want to talk about CHANGES. Yes, changes to the TBR pile. 
Because, let's face it. I have commitment issues when it comes to this sort of thing, 
and I want to talk about it! A little.

Here is a compilation of ALL the books:

The Series Starters:



The Beach-y Reads:




SO... I said something about changes, right? Basically, I'm putting MOST of these books back into the ol' TBR pile, the general one, where they will be wait listed for who knows how long. Yikes! Okay, it isn't that I believed I could read all of these in one summer. NOPE! I never said that. I only said I wanted options. Some of these options have changed, but I've also dwindled the option list too -- which is good for me. I felt a little overwhelmed by all of these books in one summer; even if I didn't full on commit, it still weighed me down. But to my delight, I did make a little progress. 


The books I've read:



I'm happy I've knocked out 2 books from each list. It does count for something, right? 

Here are the books I plan to read by the end of summer or...


My revised summer TBR list:



Now, I've got a little bit of breathing room, right? Though I've only listed the books I'm confident about reading, I want to add another book to my revised list. I want your input. I NEED your help! I want you to pick 1 SERIES STARTER or 1 BEACH-Y READ from the lists above. What do you think I should read by the end of summer? Please point out my mistake here. Which book should I absolutely NOT PUT OFF FOR ANOTHER SEASON? So, that's your challenge to give to me! Make this good, peeps! I want my summer to end on a high note!

And if you're curious...


Here are the books I'm currently reading:


These are also a part of the challenge!

**I'm having trouble with My Life Next Door. Someone convince me to push through.** 


I'll be back at the end of August/beginning of September with news 
on how successful/disastrous this revised challenge turned out to be. Wish me luck!


So, how is your summer reading shaping up?
Did you challenge yourself with a summer TBR pile of your own?
Are you sticking to your list or making adjustments?
Don't forget to weigh in on what you think I should add to my list!

 photo MarlenesSignature_zps1aa65df7.png

Thursday, July 17, 2014

The Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY Stops Here:)




If you guys follow this blog or know anything about me and my reading tastes then it should come as NO surprise that I signed up to be part of the Breathe, Annie, Breathe Blog Tour. I loooove Miranda Kennneally's Hundred Oak Series, read them all, she's one of my favorite contemporary YA writers and a definite "go-to" author--I'll read whatever she puts out there. So, I hope you enjoy my review and stick around to enter the giveaway afterwards:) 



Breathe, Annie, Breathe
by Miranda Kenneally
July 15, 2014
Sourcebooks Fire
306 pages
Source: A copy was provided for blog tour purposes. 
Thanks, Xpresso Book Tours and Sourcebooks Fire:)

Synopsis

Annie hates running. No matter how far she jogs, she can’t escape the guilt that if she hadn’t broken up with Kyle, he might still be alive. So to honor his memory, she starts preparing for the marathon he intended to race.

But the training is even more grueling than Annie could have imagined. Despite her coaching, she’s at war with her body, her mind—and her heart. With every mile that athletic Jeremiah cheers her on, she grows more conflicted. She wants to run into his arms…and sprint in the opposite direction. For Annie, opening up to love again may be even more of a challenge than crossing the finish line.

"Breathe, Annie, Breathe is an emotional, heartfelt, and beautiful story about finding yourself after loss and learning to love. It gave me so many feels. Her best book yet." — Jennifer Armentrout, New York Times bestselling author of Wait for You. 
(Goodreads Summary.)



* Breathe, Annie, Breathe is the 5th book in the Hundred Oaks Series. You don't have to read any of the previous books in the series before starting Breathe, Annie, Breathe, but there are many returning characters and I personally think you will get much more out of it if you do:)*


Opening Line

As a kid I had the worst mile time ever. 


My Take On It

For all the girls looking for a new beginning.


See that line up there? That's Miranda's dedication at the beginning of Breathe, Annie, Breathe. Miranda has some of the best book dedications. In Catching Jordan she dedicated the book "to all the bad ass chicks out there." In Stealing Parker it was "to all the girls struggling to find their place."  In my favorite book of her Hundred Oaks series, Things I Can't Forget,  she dedicates the book "to all her readers", and "hopes they find their own truth." And those dedications are part of what I love about all of Miranda's books. The positive messages that are infused with moments of awesome girl power

What else do I love about this author and her writing? Hmmm...let me count the ways...I love the relatable, authentic characters. I love her heroines, each of whom is bad ass in her own way. I love her hot male leads, even when they do bonehead things or piss me off.  I especially love her secondaries who help to complement the main characters but often steal the scene themselves. I love the authentic dialogue. I love the amazing SWOON factor each book possesses and the sex positive themes that are always included. I love how readable her books all are,  and how accessible--whether you are a young adult, the target audience, or a not so young adult like me and many of my reader/blogger friends--Miranda's books can be enjoyed by a wide spectrum of ages because each speak to universal themes like self discovery and identity; discovering first love and sexuality;  and issues of faith and grief.  So it doesn't matter if you just starting out in life or are somewhere in the middle like me--these are things that we can all relate to in some fashion.  


So, knowing all of these things I felt very confident that I would love Breathe, Annie, Breathe just as I love all the companion books in the Hundred Oaks series. And I did. A lot. I knew going in that this book would fall into the same camp as my two favorite Kenneally books: Stealing Parker (read my review) and Things I Can't Forget (my review) in that they are a little bit more serious and issue driven. Don't get me wrong: I LOVE Catching Jordan and Racing Savannah--but it was Parker and Kate's crisis of faith alongside their explorations of their sexuality and friend/mama drama that sucked me in and put them on my all-time favorite reads list. I knew from Breathe, Annie, Breathe's synopsis that our heroine would be dealing with some heavy grief and loss. I didn't know how much guilt played a role in the book or what a wonderful testament to love and forgiveness it would be turn out to be. 

So, here is the set up: Annie recently lost her first love Kyle-- the boy she started dating her freshman year of high school--the boy she thought she would one day marry. To honor him she has decided to to run the Music City Marathon-- a race Kyle was training for when he died. It doesn't matter that Annie is not a runner and has never taken on a goal like this. It doesn't matter that she is dipping into her savings/college fund to pay for the expensive running shoes she's wearing out every couple of months or the expensive marathon training lessons. The only thing that matters is that Annie does this one last thing for Kyle. So, from the start we the reader admire Annie. How could we not? In fact I'd go so far as to say Annie is the most likable and admirable of all of Miranda's heroines.  And listen, I'm no runner and I can't even fathom running a marathon--but I was still SHOCKED by the toll that the training took on Annie's body-- it was reading these parts of the book  that turned me from a mere Annie admirer to a bonafide FAN of this girl and what she was trying to accomplish. You know I always hear about these people who have "run a marathon" as part of their 'bucket list' but I never really related (I told you, I'm no runner) but after reading Breathe, Annie, Breathe, I kinda get it--the appeal that is. It really is an incredible achievement and it really does take an enormous amount of discipline and hard work physically--but I think more so mentally--to prepare for and accomplish this goal. People who run marathon's are freaking tough, you guys. And if you have ever doubted that than just read this book and see what Annie goes through. 

The marathon is the backbone of the book--the book is told in increments of time--all counting down to the race. But as the story unfolds, this book, at least in my opinion, is about so much more than Annie's desire to do this last thing for Kyle. It becomes so much more than a story about grief and loss. It becomes a story about hope and forgiveness. It becomes a story about Annie discovering who she is and who she wants to be. 

It's also a love story-- a story about learning to move forward even when there is part of you that can't imagine doing so. It's about learning to trust your heart with someone new--and how scary that can be--and like the book's dedication implies--it's a story about new beginnings. Our swoony male lead is Jeremiah Brown, younger brother to Things I Can't Forget's Matt Brown, who is back in this book as Annie's trainer. All of us Miranda Kenneally fangirls love when she brings back our old favorites from past books--in Breathe, Annie Breathe we see Matt and Kate, Savannah and Jack, Kelsey, Vanessa and Rory and even Jordan and Sam Henry. Matt as a secondary gets the most screen time and it was awesome to read more about him--he's still just as perfect as ever. 

But what about Jeremiah?? Yeah, like all of Miranda's book boys he's a keeper too. He's a different breed than his older brother Matt--and the attraction between Annie and Jere starts out very differently too. (This is just a personal note to Miranda in case she reads this review: GIRL. That early running scene with Jere and Annie--YOU KNOW THE ONE. Good Lord. HOT.)

What's great about Jere and Annie is that there is this rather explosive, intense attraction right from the start but then they both take a step back (wisely if not frustratingly so!) and decide to slow down. They become friends--and it made their romance all the better in the end. Suffice to say, I am a fan of this couple and I love how they balanced each other and brought the best out in each other. 

I also liked that even though he's gone by the time this book begins, readers do get a chance to get to know Kyle through Annie's flashbacks and memories. It helps us understand what's going on in her head, why she's doing what's she's doing and why she's feeling what she's feeling. I love when a writer can take a character who isn't physically present in the book but flesh him out so thoroughly that it feels as if he is. 

There are some side plots as well, Annie's strained relationship with her mom and her former best friend Kelsey are two. I also loved that this is the first of Miranda's books since Things I Can't Forget that takes place post high school--and it's the first that features a college setting. I love college settings--some of my best memories are from this period of my life--I hope Miranda decides to explore this part of a young adult's life even more in future books. 

To sum it all up: another win for Miranda Kenneally. Her amazing, relatable authentic characters are back, the swoon (this one is steamy, you guys!) is back, as are the fantastic themes of self discovery, identity and self forgiveness. Miranda continues to do what she does best--write highly entertaining and thought-provoking contemporary young adult books-- I for one hope she never stops.





And now for the giveaway:)


Miranda is graciously giving away 2 Barnes & Noble gift cards valued at $50 each
AND
3 signed copies of Breathe, Annie, Breathe

This giveaway ends on July 29, 2014
US/ Canada Entries only, please


Fill out the rafflecopter and good luck!




a Rafflecopter giveaway





And don't forget to check out the other tour stops along the way!

July 14th

July 15th

July 16th

July 17th

July 18th

July 19th




AUTHOR BIO
Growing up in Tennessee, Miranda Kenneally dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she writes, and works for the State Department in Washington, D.C., where George W. Bush once used her shoulder as an armrest. Miranda loves Twitter, Star Trek and her husband.


Find Miranda herewebsite / goodreads / twitter facebook

Order Breathe, Annie, Breathe here:  Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo /itunes


 photo HeatherSignaturedeepred_zps3409da14.png